Innovation Management

Because great ideas are not enough.

Successful companies retain their competitive edge by fostering innovation: innovation in their product ideas, but also innovation in their business model and business processes. Innovation involves approaching new technologies, new functions and new methods of working – founded in solid knowledge of the environment, the trends, the customer requirements and the market needs at stake.

Tops and flops

Innovation-based activities go hand in hand with high risks. For many companies, systematic innovation management is an alien concept. In an innovation-based environment, the type of business model generally makes or breaks the success of the project:

  • The inventor (innovator) has good ideas, but rarely takes these innovations far enough for market success.
  • The product pioneer is able to develop a prototype – but this often has weaknesses that hold it back from market-readiness.
  • The first mover is a product developer with the ability to transform the innovation into a saleable product – but is unable to maintain competitiveness for long.
  • The fast follower is flexible and adopts the innovation, runs a precise analysis of its function and market, and then quickly launches a competitive product that generally improves on the functions of the original.

Successful fast followers have the infrastructure they need, and generally face the lowest risk. The business world is teeming with examples of fast followers and their innovations, from telephones and automobiles to pharmaceuticals, consumer electronics and many more.

Let us show you how

When it comes to implementation of systematic innovation management, the right procedure and the right application software are critical:

  • Collect, annotate and appraise ideas
  • Develop designs, draw up budgets and resource plans
  • List detailed requirements, produce business cases
  • Incorporate good proposals in the portfolio
  • Launch innovation projects
  • Implement projects to market-readiness

The transition between innovation management and product life cycle management is a fluid one. We have developed an appropriate innovation management solution integrated into the PLM system, and are happy to present it to you on request.

Interested in finding out more?
Contact us!
Tel. +49 7244 947-100

Our partners:

Innovation Management

Gute Ideen allein reichen nicht aus

Ein erfolgreiches Unternehmen bleibt wettbewerbsfähig, wenn es innovativ ist – innovativ in Produktideen, aber auch innovativ in Geschäftsmodell und Geschäftsprozessen. Innovation ist das Herantasten an neue Technologien, neue Funktionen und Arbeitsweisen. Das setzt gute Kenntnis des Umfelds, der Tendenzen, der Anforderungen der Kunden und der Bedürfnisse der Märkte voraus.

Von Tops und Flops

Das Risiko bei innovativem Handeln ist groß. Systematisches Innovation Management ist in Firmen oft noch ein Fremdwort. Im Umfeld von Innovation entscheidet die Art des Geschäftsmodells meist über Erfolg oder Misserfolg:

  • Der Erfinder (Innovator) hat gute Ideen, die er als Innovation aber selten zum Markterfolg führt.
  • Der Produktpionier (Product Pioneer) ist in der Lage, einen Prototypen zu entwickeln – meist mit nicht marktfähigen Schwachstellen.
  • Der Produktentwickler (First Mover) ist in der Lage, die Innovation in ein verkaufsfähiges Produkt umzusetzen. Er kann aber den Wettbewerbsvorteil nicht lange halten.
  • Der Marktnachfolger (Fast Follower) ist flexibel, greift die Innovation auf, analysiert genau Funktion und Markt, um schnell ein konkurrenzfähiges, meist funktional noch besseres Produkt auf den Markt zu werfen.

Der erfolgreiche Fast Follower hat die geeignete Infrastruktur. Sein Erfolgsrisiko ist meist am geringsten. Es gibt zahllose Beispiele für Fast Follower und Innovationen wie Telefon, Automobil, Pharma, Unterhaltungselektronik, um nur einige zu nennen.

Wir zeigen es Ihnen

Auf die richtige Vorgehensweise und auf die richtige Anwendungssoftware kommt es an, um systematisches Innovation Management umzusetzen:

  • Ideen sammeln, kommentieren, bewerten,
  • Konzept entwickeln, Budget und Ressourcen planen,
  • Anforderungen detaillieren, Business Case formulieren,
  • gute Vorschläge ins Portfolio packen,
  • Innovation-Projekt starten,
  • Umsetzung bis zur Marktreife.

Der Übergang vom Innovation Management zum Product LifeCycle Management ist fließend. Wir haben daher eine passende Lösung für Innovation Management, die in dem PLM-System integriert ist. Wir können es Ihnen zeigen. Fragen Sie danach.

Sie möchten mehr erfahren?
Kontaktieren Sie uns!
Tel. +49 7244 947-100

Unsere Partner: